



VETERINARY CONFERENCE - Weds 22nd May 2024

SESSION	Time	Topic	Speaker
LUNCH		Lunch & Registration	
Local Time Tokyo	14.00 - 14.10	Opening of Conference Welcome to the Veterinary Conference on behalf of host JBBA Executive Vice President, Dr Yoshiharu Ueno.	Dr Des Leadon, ITBF Chairman of the Veterinary Advisory Committee, ITBF Vice Chair, Chairman of EFTBA Veterinary Advisory Committee.
	14.10 - 14.15	Chairman's Introduction and outline of the programme	Dr Des Leadon
	14.15 - 15.15	Veterinary Reports From Veterinary Delegates of all ITBF Countries	Veterinary Advisors to ITBF member countries
	15.15 - 15.30	Report from EIDS (formerly International Collating Centre)	Dr James Crowhurst , EIDS Advisor to the ITBF (Equine Infectious Disease Surveillance)
	15.30 - 15.50	COFFEE BREAK	
Plenary Lecture	15.50 - 16.30	Biological Integrity of Thoroughbred racehorses and its regulatory challenges	Lecture presented by Dr Teruaki Tozaki, Ph.D Manager, Genetic Analysis Section, Laboratory of Racing Chemistry
	16.30 - 16.50	A review of control of EHV infections in Japan – Current status and prevention of equine herpesvirus type 1 abortion and stillbirth in Japan.	Dr Koji Tsujimura, D.V.M., Ph.D. Head of Molecular Biology Division Equine Research Institute, Japan Racing Association
	16.50 - 17.05	Infectious Disease review – a European Perspective	Dr Guillaume Fortier, Veterinary Advisor to the French TBA and Director General LABÉO Presented by Dr Des Leadon in Dr Fortier's absence
Pre- recorded	17.05 - 17.20	Ethology in the Breeding Shed	Dr Sue McDonnel , Professor, Section of Reproduction and Behavior, University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine
Live by Zoom	17.20 - 17.35 (04.20-04.35 Kentucky)	Update on Rotavirus Experiences in Kentucky	Dr Emma Adam, Assistant Professor, Faculty, Equine Veterinary Outreach, Liaison & Research, Gluck Equine Research Center, Kentucky
	17.35 - 17.45	Summary and Close of Conference	Dr Des Leadon Veterinary Chair & Dr Yoshiharu Ueno , JBBA Executive Vice Chairman and ITBF Executive Committee member